The SDC GriefShare is a grief support network dedicated to connecting and comforting those who have survived or lost a loved one. This support group meet every
2nd Tuesday of the month from 6-7PM
Grief is not a disorder, a disease or a sign of weakness. It is an emotional, physical and spiritual necessity, the price you pay for love.
The only cure for grief is to grieve.

5 Stages of Grief
DENIAL The first of the five stages of grief is denial. Denial helps us to survive the loss. In this stage, everything appears overbearing. Nothing makes any sense. We find ourselves in a state of shock. We go numb and the thought of how we can go on, if we can go on and why we should go on becomes our daily thought. We search for ways to just get through daily. Believe it or not, denial helps us to cope and make survival easier. It has a way of letting in only as much as we can handle. As we tend to accept the reality of the loss, we unknowingly begin the healing process. Daily we become stronger, and the denial slowly begins to disband. But as you proceed, everything you feel began to surface.

ANGER Anger is a stage of the healing process that many people attemt to cover. But believe it or not, its a neccessity. It is clearly like a virus as some medical practices say, it must run its course. Many emotions will flare up but anger is the one we must manage. There are no limits when it comes to anger. If not careful, it will cause you to be angry with friends, the doctors, your family, yourself, your loved one who died, and also to God. The question always come up, “Where is God in this?" Underneath anger is pain, your pain. It is natural to feel deserted and abandoned, but we live in a society that teaches its not okay to be angry. Anger in itself is strength. At first grief feels like being lost in the ocean: no connection and just wavering. Then you get angry, maybe at someone who didn’t do what you thought they should have done during the time of the loss, maybe a person whose absent, maybe a person who is different now that your loved one has died. The anger then becomes a bridge over the open sea, a connection from you to the person. It is something to guide you; and a connection made from the strength of anger feels better than nothing. We usually know more about suppressing anger than feeling it. The anger is just another indication of the intensity of your love. But if not careful we have to manage it so that it cannot make us leave bruises on people because of the anger of losing a love one.

BARGAINING The normal reaction to feelings of helplessness and vulnerability is often a need to regain control through a series of “If only” statements, such as:
If only we had went to the doctors sooner,
If only we got a second opinion from another doctor,
If only we had tried to be a better person toward them, 
This is an attempt to bargain. Secretly, we may make a deal with God or our higher power in an attempt to postpone the inevitable, and the accompanying pain. This is a weaker line of defense to protect us from the painful reality.
Guilt often accompanies bargaining. We start to believe there was something we could have done differently to have helped save our loved one.

Depression  There are two types of depression that are associated with mourning. The first one is a reaction to practical implications relating to the loss. Sadness and regret predominate this type of depression. We worry about the costs and burial. We worry that, in our grief, we have spent less time with others that depend on us. This phase may be eased by simple clarification and reassurance. We may need a bit of helpful cooperation and a few kind words.
The second type of depression is more subtle and, in a sense, perhaps more private. It is our quiet preparation to separate and to bid our loved one farewell. Sometimes all we really need is a hug.

Acceptance  Reaching this stage of grieving is a gift not afforded to everyone. Death may be sudden and unexpected or we may never see beyond our anger or denial. It is not necessarily a mark of bravery to resist the inevitable and to deny ourselves the opportunity to make our peace. This phase is marked by withdrawal and calm. This is not a period of happiness and must be distinguished from depression.
Loved ones that are terminally ill or aging appear to go through a final period of withdrawal. This is by no means a suggestion that they are aware of their own impending death or such, only that physical decline may be sufficient to produce a similar response. Their behavior implies that it is natural to reach a stage at which social interaction is limited. The dignity and grace shown by our dying loved ones may well be their last gift to us.
Coping with loss is ultimately a deeply personal and singular experience — nobody can help you go through it more easily or understand all the emotions that you’re going through. But others can be there for you and help comfort you through this process. The best thing you can do is to allow yourself to feel the grief as it comes over you. Resisting it only will prolong the natural process of healing.

  1. Managing Director
  2. Managing Director
  3. Managing Director
  4. Managing Director
  5. Managing Director